The Queen Anne’s County Courthouse boasts a long heritage as the oldest Maryland courthouse in continuous use. Completed in 1792, the white brick courthouse had a center section two rooms deep, flanked by matching wings one room deep. The building was renovated in 1876 and the wings were doubled in depth and a rear addition was added. Upstairs, today’s circuit court cases are heard beneath a coffered tin ceiling that is supported by cast iron columns from the Victorian Era renovations. During the cold war, a bomb shelter was built in the basement. The courthouse is a fully functional working environment with current documents sitting beside dusty old volumes recording the indentures of servants.
The courthouse green is the town’s centerpiece and the green itself is graced with a sculpture of the county’s namesake, Good Queen Anne. Her Royal Highness Princess Anne of England attended the statue’s 1977 dedication. This is the only known sculpture of Queen Anne outside of England. Also on the courthouse green is the county’s war memorial wall that lists the names of each Queen Anne’s County citizen who died fighting for the country.